Kenya thrashed Uganda 7-3 in the final round of singles matches over three days of action to reclaim the two-nation Victoria Cup played at the Limuru Golf Club in Nairobi on Sunday.

The dominant display had Kenya winning by 21-5 points, to claim their fourth title as the 5th edition of the annual event came to a climax; on the back of the Regional IV Championship that Kenya also won in Kampala a fortnight ago.

After that famous 3-0 in the final over Uganda at the Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort, the Kenyan golfers were not to be denied their second championship against an ill-prepared Uganda team that fielded several inexperienced players in Nairobi.

Uganda’s hopes of avenging their recent defeat failed to take off as they lost

the opening four-ball-better-ball match-play 4-0 and the foursomes 3-1, as Kenya set themselves on course of winning their fourth title.

Kenya was in devastating form winning the opening day 7-1 points before they extended their advantage on the second day with a 14-2 points lead in the one-sided contest.

Adel Balala and Simon Mulama won 4/2 over Ronald Mugisha and Godfrey Nsubuga.  John Lejirma and Mutahi Kibugu also picked a 4/3 victory over Joseph Akena and Andrew Ssekibeja as Dennis Maara and Mike Karanga dug deep before stopping Joseph Cwinyaai and Mike Alunga at the 18th hole, 1up. Ebill Omollo and Chris Andrea also had little difficulty in dispatching Tom Jingo and Ibra Balagana 3/1 in the round three final matches. Earlier on Friday, Adel Balala/Sammy Mulama had beaten Joseph Kasozi/Michael Alunga 4&3 (by four holes with three to play) as Njoroge Kibugu/Andrew Wahome saw off Joseph Cwinya-ai/Joseph Akena; 2up. John Lejirma/Daniel Kiragu also easily won against Ibrahim Bagalana/Dennis Asaba; 4&3 while Dennis Maara/Michael Karanga won 3&2 against Tom Jjingo/Godfrey Nsubuga.

Uganda put up some resistance in the final singles round but still lost 7-3 as Kenya matched for their fourth title.

Since its inception in 2016, Kenya has now won four editions to Uganda’s one, in the two-nation tournament that is the Ryder Cup version between the two countries.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *