Winners of the 2023 inaugural Sakaja Super Cup were feted today, December 21st, at the Nairobi Charter Hall in a colourful event graced by Nairobi Governor Johnson Sakaja, who is also the patron of the tournament.

Champions Githurai All Stars hailing from Roysambu sub county were feted with the top prize of  Ksh 3 million, a mega glittering trophy, and medals as Club Jojo of Embakasi Central emerged victorious in the ladies’s competition, wining themselves Ksh 1 million, a trophy, and medals.

Governor Sakaja while congratulating the winners said that the tournament was a true testament that sports can be used as an avenue to economic empowerment as well as social integration noting that the tournament will be an annual affair where teams will have an opportunity to exploit teir talents.

“Since we began this tournament, many talented players have been identified. It is a testament that talent pays and we are today here to congratulate the winners for a job well done,” Sakaja said.

The governor handed winners their purse and honored his pledge to award the best fan base as fans of  Creative Hands FC Embakasi South received the prestigious most decorated fan base award winning a Ksh 300,000 top prize. Fans of Asec Huruma were the second best fan base as Githurai All Stars came in third.

Victors Faith FC midfielder Ramadhan Waliula and Florence Akinyi from Club Jojo were recognized as the Most Valuable Players of the tournament.

In the main awards, Club Jojo won the ladies competition and pocketed Ksh 1 million with Kibagare Girls, the runners up taking home Ksh 500,000. Michezo Halisi Kenya who finished third was awarded with a Ksh 250,000 cash prize.

Fondly refereed to as ‘GAS’, Githurai All Stars took home the top prize as South B’s Kawasaki Sports Club from Starehe walked away Ksh 2,000,000 richer and Njiru’s Victor’s Faith FC won Ksh 1,000,000 for their third place finish.

The golden boot jointly went to Cedric Achweya of Kawasaki sports, Geoffrey Erambo of Riruta 105 FC and Caleb Abuga of Creative Hands who all netted 11 goals in the tournament. Sheila Atsachi of Dagoretti mixed school won the golden boot in the ladies category with six goals under her name.

Club Jojo captain Florence Akinyi won the most valuable player award in the ladies category as Ramadhan Waliaula Simiyu of Victor’s Faith walked away with the most vakuable player award in the men;s competition.

Bramwell Katari of Dandora Hunters kept the most clean sheets winning the tournament’s golden glove as Naomi Achieng of Kibagare Girls took home the golden glove for women.

The most promising player award went to Kawasaki’s Gift Mumo while Adan Ibrahim from Langata and Curtis Saiti from Embakasi South took home the best sub county coordinator gongs.

The tournament sponsored by the Sakaja Foundation in partnership with the Nairobi City County government and Football Kenya Federation was started in September and played in all 85 wards in Nairobi with 340 teams.

Full List of Awards
1-Club Jojo
2- Kibagare Girls
3- Michezo halisi

1-Githurai Allstars
3-Victor’s Faith

𝐆𝐨𝐥𝐝𝐞𝐧 𝐛𝐨𝐨𝐭
𝗟𝗮𝗱𝗶𝗲𝘀 (𝟲 𝗚𝗼𝗮𝗹𝘀)
Sheila Atsachi (Dagoretti mixed school)

𝗠𝗲𝗻 (𝟭𝟭 𝗴𝗼𝗮𝗹𝘀 𝗲𝗮𝗰𝗵)
1-Cedric achweya (Kawasaki)
2-Geoffrey Erambo (Riruta 105)
3- Caleb abuga(Creative hands)

𝐁𝐞𝐬𝐭 𝐩𝐥𝐚𝐲𝐞𝐫
Florence Akinyi (club Jojo)
Ramadhan Waliaula simiyu (Victor’s Faith)

𝐆𝐨𝐥𝐝𝐞𝐧 𝐠𝐥𝐨𝐯𝐞
Men- Bramwell katari (Dandora hunters)
Ladies – Naomi Achieng (Kibagare girls)

𝗠𝗼𝘀𝘁 𝗽𝗿𝗼𝗺𝗶𝘀𝗶𝗻𝗴 𝗽𝗹𝗮𝘆𝗲𝗿
Gift mumo (Kawasaki)

𝐁𝐞𝐬𝐭 𝐜𝐨𝐨𝐫𝐝𝐢𝐧𝐚𝐭𝐨𝐫
Adan Ibrahim (Langata)
Curtis saiti (Embakasi South)

𝐌𝐨𝐬𝐭 𝐃𝐞𝐜𝐨𝐫𝐚𝐭𝐞𝐝 𝐅𝐚𝐧𝐛𝐚𝐬𝐞
1 Creative hands
2 Asec huruma
3 Githurai Allstars
4 Fifa Best


By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *