Nairobi County Assembly Speaker Ken Ng’ondi

The push to have a change of leadership in the Nairobi City County Assembly has taken a new twist following reports that an overhaul in the majority side now has the backing of the Azimio La Umoja One Kenya party leader Rila Odinga.

According to insiders within the ranks of Azimio la Umoja in Nairobi, the recent appointment of a new Nairobi City Water and Sewerage Company (NCWSC) Board by Nairobi Governor Johnson Sakaja has been named as a major cause of the renewed charge to overhaul leadership at the county assembly.

In the proposed changes, which Raila is said to be warming up to, the Assembly speaker Ken Ng’ondi, Majority leader Peter Imwatok (Makongeni) and the county assembly chairman of the Budget, Finance and Appropriation committee Wilfred Odalo (Mabitini) are to be replaced.

The new Chairman of Nairobi water Arnold Karanja

City Lawyer Arnold Karanja was appointed the new Chairman of Nairobi water during the inaugural board meeting following the board’s appointment. Karanja replaced former chairperson Beryl Odinga Okumu, a sister to Azimio Leader Raila Odinga who has been the chairperson of the NCWSC since 2020.

According to close sources, Beryl, keen to keep her position as chairperson sought to have the three top ranking assembly leaders assist her keep the position and is alleged to have funded Ng’ondi, Imwatok and Odalo to help her sail back for onother term but the trio failed to deliver and did nothing to help her retain her position.

Raila has been said to be angry at the three leaders who are accused of conning Beryl Odinga and have also been implicated in other similar accusations and Raila is now in support of the removal of the three from the Azimio assembly leadership.

Beryl Odinga

In the proposed changes in the county assembly, the erstwhile favourite candidate for the position of county assembly leader of majority South C MCA Abass Khalif is set to be named the new majority leader as Kariobangi South MCA Robert Mbatia takes over the chairmanship of the county assembly Budget, Finance and Appropriation committee replacing Odalo.

The Speaker Ken Ng’ondi who is also accused of misleading Raila that a change of leadership in the majority was only possible after two years according to the house standing orders will be replaced as well with former longserving MCA Elias Otieno identified as a favourite candidate to replace Ng’ondi as County Assembly Speaker.

Just recently, amidst the calls for change, Azimio was faced with a split with Jubilee MCA’s threatening to ditch Azimio a move that informed Raila’s choice of Abassas a replacement in the office of Majority leader due to his ability to bring unity within the Azimio coalision in the assembly.

The other board members of the Nairobi City Water and Sewerage Company include Beryl Okumu who is now the vice chairperson, Emmah Mukuhi Muthoni (Finance Committee). Cedric Alaro (Technical, Commercial & ICT Committee). Rose Esther Wamuiya (Audit, Risk and Governance Committee) Johnstone Mukabwa (Human Resource Administration and Communication Committee) and Robow Mohamed Hassan.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *